18 June 2024

Photo: Film Frame ©Marvel Studios 2020

Marvel’s Black Widow To Open With Expanded Aspect Ratio On IMAX

Expanded Aspect Ratio Set To Be Released Exclusively in IMAX®

We’re only a few weeks away from finally seeing Marvel’s Black Widow on the big screen. The long awaited standalone film for Natasha Romanoff (Scarlett Johansson) is long over due, how are you going to watch it? We know some of us will watch it via Disney+, for those happy to head to the cinema, how about treating yourself to IMAX?

When it comes to the MCU, the action will be big, explosive. You will want to see every little bit of that action and this film will be no stranger to that action. IMAX have announced that the film will debut with 22 minutes of select scenes in Expanded Aspect Ratio (EAR) exclusively in IMAX. Several scenes of the movie have been specially formatted exclusively for IMAX cinemas, allowing fans to fully immerse themselves in the movie with the massive IMAX screen at 1.90:1 aspect ratio.

Aspect ratio is the technical term for the proportional relationship between an image’s width and height. Most films are presented in an aspect ratio called CinemaScope (2.40:1) which is why they appear very wide but not very high. IMAX provides filmmakers with the ability to use an expanded aspect ratio – allowing them to use more of the original image. Watching a film with an expanded aspect ratio provides audiences with a full immersive view that fills the peripheral vision more than any other cinematic experience.

Natasha Romanoff aka Black Widow confronts the darker parts of her ledger when a dangerous conspiracy with ties to her past arises. Pursued by a force that will stop at nothing to bring her down, Natasha must deal with her history as a spy and the broken relationships left in her wake long before she became an Avenger. Scarlett Johansson reprises her role as Natasha/Black Widow, Florence Pugh stars as Yelena, David Harbour portrays Alexei/The Red Guardian, and Rachel Weisz is Melina. The feature film is directed by Cate Shortland and produced by Kevin Feige, “Black Widow”—the first film in Phase Four of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

The film also stars Rachel Weisz, David Harbour, Florence Pugh, Ray Winstone and William Hurt.

You can watch Black Window two ways in UK, Irish and US cinemas OR  Disney+ with Premier Access. Whatever option you take, both available from 9th July.

Discover more from

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Did you enjoy? Agree Or Disagree? Leave A Comment

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading