The Legendary Shaw Brothers 14 Film Collection Coming To MUBI

, , Leave a comment


Shaw Brothers coming to MUBI in December
Hong Kong and Martial Arts fans, MUBI has the perfect early Christmas gift for you. has today unveiled details of the 14-film collection from the legendary Celestial Pictures’ Shaw Brothers library – SHAW BROTHERS: WUXIA WARRIORS AND KUNG FU MASTERS – coming to MUBI on 1st December.

This deep-dive retrospective captures the spirit of the trailblazing film studio – which shook up the Hong Kong film industry and became a powerhouse in Asian cinema – featuring works from Chinese legends Chang Cheh, Lau Kar-leung and more including Lau Kar-leung’s The 36th Chamber of Shaolin; Jeong Chang-hwa’s King Boxer; King Hu’s Come Drink With Me; and Chang Cheh’s The One-Armed Swordsman.

As the indomitable force behind many of the defining classics of Kung fu and Wuxia that exploded onto the international stage in the 1970s, the Shaw Brothers have influenced hip-hop and mainstream cinema with many renowned filmmakers and artists who have taken inspiration from their style of filmmaking, including Ang Lee, Quentin Tarantino and the Wu Tang Clan. The Shaw Brothers crafted an unparalleled cinematic universe brimming with kinetic energy and poetic storytelling. Renowned for their lavish sets, intricate costumes, and breathtaking choreography, their films set new standards for cinematic excellence. Both profound and entertaining, they captured the essence of martial arts philosophy and the grandeur of Chinese legends, bringing traditional Chinese war myths to global audiences.

The Shaw Brothers: Wuxia Warriors and Kung Fu Masters collection will be available to stream on MUBI from 1st December.

The 36th Chamber of Shaolin (Lau Kar-leung, 1977)
Come Drink with Me (King Hu, 1966)
Crippled Avengers (Chang Cheh, 1978)
Five Element Ninjas (Chang Cheh, 1982)
Five Deadly Venoms (Chang Cheh, 1978)
King Boxer (Jeong Chang-hwa, 1972)
The One-Armed Swordsman (Chang Cheh, 1967)
The Boxer from Shantung (Chang Cheh, 1972)
Clan of the White Lotus (Lo Lieh, 1979)
Dirty Ho (Lau Kar-leung, 1979)
Eight-Diagram Pole Fighter (Lau Kar-leung, 1983)
Heroes of the East (Lau Kar-leung, 1978)
Intimate Confessions of a Chinese Courtesan (Chor Yuen, 1972)
Legendary Weapons of China (Lau Kar-leung, 1982)