Go Forth With Indicator With Columbia Noir In September

Spies, stakeouts, corrupt cops, and crime syndicates. It can only mean that September for Indicator will return with it’s Columbia Noir series. COLUMBIA NOIR #4, Set for release on 20th September the fourth box set will present six world premieres on Blu-ray – WALK A CROOKED MILE (1948), WALK EAST ON BEACON! (1952), PUSHOVER (1954), A BULLET IS WAITING (1954), CHICAGO SYNDICATE (1955) and THE BROTHERS RICO (1957).

Like all Indicator releases it will have a wealth of bonus materials, including expert commentaries, critical appreciations, short films, a theme-sharing dose of the Three Stooges, and a 120-page book.


  • High Definition remasters of all six films
  • Original mono soundtracks
  • Audio commentary on Walk East on Beacon! with In a Lonely Street author Frank Krutnik (2021)
  • Audio commentary on Pushover with film historians Alexandra Heller-Nicholas and Josh Nelson (2021)
  • Audio commentary on Chicago Syndicate with film historian Toby Roan (2021)
  • Audio commentary on The Brothers Rico with professor and film scholar Jason A Ney (2021)
  • Introduction to The Brothers Rico by Martin Scorsese (2010)
  • Glenn Kenny on Richard Quine (2021): the author and critic examines the eclectic career of the director of Pushover
  • Josephine Botting on Jean Simmons (2021): the film historian discusses the early American career of the British actor
  • G-Men Combat Saboteurs (1941) and G-Men at War (1942): two March of Time documentaries produced by Louis De Rochemont (Walk East on Beacon!), focusing on the FBI’s efforts to apprehend spies and fifth columnists
  • Routine Job: A Story of Scotland Yard (1946): short film examining the day-to-day work of the Scotland Yard detective, much like the one in Walk a Crooked Mile
  • Policeman’s Holiday (1949): short film in which an American detective comes to England to assist Scotland Yard, echoing but reversing the plot of Walk a Crooked Mile
  • Six comedy shorts starring the Three Stooges, each lampooning the tropes and themes of the films in this set: From Nurse to Worse (1940), The Yoke’s on Me (1944), Dunked in the Deep (1949), Blunder Boys (1955), Commotion in the Ocean (1956), and A Merry Mix-Up (1957)
  • Original theatrical trailers
  • Image galleries: promotional and publicity materials
  • New and improved English subtitles for the deaf and hard-of-hearing
  • Limited edition exclusive 120-page book with new essays by Beth Ann Gallagher, Bob Herzberg, Sophie Monks Kaufman, Omar Ahmed, Jen Johans, and Monica Castillo, archival articles and interviews, and film credits
  • World premieres on Blu-ray
  • Limited edition box set of 6,000 numbered units