Noel Clarke Set To Be Honoured At 2021 EE British Academy Film Awards

The BAFTAs (The British Academy of Film and Television Arts) are set to honour actor, Noel Clarke. The award winning producer, writer will receive the Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award at next month’s 74th EE British Academy Film Awards.

the award will be presented to Noel on the opening night (Saturday 10th April)ceremony in London. With this years ceremony a two night celebration with both nights broadcast virtually on both 10th and 11th April over BBC One & Two.

The actor will be known for his roles in Bulletproof, Doctor Who and Auf Wiedersehen, Pet. His very first TV appearance over two decades ago in the ground-breaking Channel 4 series, Metrosexuality, Noel Clarke has played a pivotal role in bringing diversity to British screens in front and behind the camera and pushing under-represented talent and stories to the forefront of cinema and television.

Clarke captivated audiences early on after winning the Laurence Olivier Award for ‘Most Promising Newcomer’ for his performance in the play Where Do We Live at the Royal Court.

Clarke also made his name also on the big screen and British independent film with Film Hood trilogy (Kidulthood (2006), Adulthood (2008) and Brotherhood (2016)). He wrote as well starred in the film, the latter two which he directed. The award-winning films focussed on the lives of troubled teenagers turned adults living in West London.

He also received the BAFTA Rising Star Award in 2009.

In 2007, Clarke co-founded his own production company, Unstoppable Entertainment, later joining with fellow actor/producer Jason Maza. Their goal is to champion fresh, emerging and diverse voices

His other on-screen credits include J.J. AbramsStar Trek Into Darkness, cult film Heartless, crime thriller The Corrupted, romantic comedy Fisherman’s Friends and Twist co-starring Michael Caine, which was produced under the Unstoppable label and released on Sky Cinema in January 2021.

Clarke can currently be seen in the Sky Cinema original film SAS: Red Notice opposite Sam Heughan, Andy Serkis and Tom Wilkinson and will next appear as the lead in the new ITV drama Viewpoint due out this Spring.

One of BAFTA’s highest honours, the Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award is presented annually in honour of Michael Balcon, the British film producer known for his work with Ealing Studios.

Andy Serkis was the recipient at the 2020 Film Awards. Previous recipients include Ridley and Tony Scott, Film4 Productions, Working Title Films, Angela Allen, the Harry Potter series of films, John Hurt, Tessa Ross, Peter Greenaway, BBC Films, Angels Costumes, Curzon, The National Film and Television School and Elizabeth Karlsen and Stephen Woolley, co-founders of Number 9 Films.

Noel Clarke commented: “Thank you BAFTA for this acknowledgment and recognition of my work over the past two decades. I will endeavour to continue to make ground-breaking work and open doors for underrepresented people that may not often get a chance.”

Marc Samuelson, Chair of BAFTA’s Film Committee said: “Noel is an inspiration to me and to many others, for his central and much-needed role in supporting and championing diverse voices in the British film industry. He is a multi-hyphenate who early on in his career has managed successfully to cross the line from respected actor to filmmaker. He truly is able to do it all – acting, writing, directing and producing. His authentic portrayal of London life in his critically acclaimed Hood trilogy cemented his place in British cinema and he continues to push boundaries with his work today. He is now building a hugely successful production company, giving opportunities to a wide range of talented people from many different under-represented groups. I cannot think of a more deserving recipient for this year’s award.

This year, the EE British Academy Film Awards will be celebrated across the weekend two nights. First on Saturday 10th April with the ceremony Broadcast virtually on BBC Two. The second night will be 11th April which will be broadcast on BBC One and BBC One HD.