Dogwoof Releasing Mystify: Michael Hutchence Story This December

Feature-length theatrical documentary written and directed by Richard Lowenstein, will be released on DVD, EST, VOD on 9th December by Dogwoof.

Nominated for Best Documentary at this year’s Tribeca Film Festival, MYSTIFY is written and directed by Richard Lowenstein (Autoluminescent; Rowland S Howard, Ecco Homo), who also directed the majority of both INXS and Michael’s music videos and the 1986 feature film, Dogs in Space, in which Michael played the lead. As a close friend, Richard was given unprecedented access resulting in rare archive footage and intimate insights from friends, lovers, family, colleagues and Michael himself. As a result, Richard was able to paint a truly unique portrayal of Michael’s life and career, reminding us of the genius that he was.

An intimate narrative portrait, imbued with authenticity, warmth and humour, of the internationally renowned INXS frontman, Michael Hutchence. Michael came to epitomise the very definition of leather clad sexually magnetic rock front man, whilst underneath it all he was a poetic, multifaceted and intensely sensitive man who struggled with the idea of success and the creative limits of pop. Extraordinary archive footage, personal home movies and intimate insights from Michael’s friends, lovers, band-members, family, collaborators and Hutchence himself guide us through a trajectory from unconventional fractured childhood to a charismatic, turbulent and ultimately tragic public stardom.

Additional Bonus Materials Include:

The home entertainment release of MYSTIFY: MICHAEL HUTCHENCE includes two deleted scenes and an exclusive panel discussion with director Richard Lowenstein and long-time INXS music producer Chris Thomas, hosted by GQ UK Editor in Chief, Dylan Jones

  • Q&A with Richard Lowenstein and Chris Thomas hosted by Dylan Jones, Editor in Chief at GQ UK.
  • Theatrical Trailer
  • Two Deleted scenes

– And Now Max Q, Way of the World
– Max Q music video

Mystifiy: Michael Hutchence will be released by Dogwoof on DVD, EST and VOD on 9th December.