This Aint Snow White and The Seven Dwarves its THE HOBBIT Dwarves! Let's Meet

, , 1 Comment


You would have thought there was a Snow White And The Seven Dwarves convention in town the past 7 days, but you would be wrong. There have been Dwarves, but they are JR Tolkien Dwarves and characters from THE HOBBIT Double Bill. Today we meet three more Bofur, Bombur and Bifur. 

The dwarf in the middle, Bofur will be a very familiar face to British and Irish viewers, as it’s none other than James Nesbitt; last seen in Emilio Estevez’s THE WAY and will be seen next in Ralph Fiennes’ (aka Voldemort) directorial debut Coriolanus. The other two are Bombur (Stephen Hunter), Bofur’s brother and Bifur their cousin (William Kirchner). Believe it or not, this trio are not from the noble line of Durin, but coalminers. So when you hear people say “they’re only in it for the money”, well for this threesome that might be true, but they’re most in it for the free beer!

While most of the Company of Thorin Oakensheild is related to the royal and noble line of Durin, Bofur, his brother Bombur and their cousin Bifur most definitely are … not. Born and bred in the West, descendants of coal miners and iron workers, they have joined the Quest for the Lonely Mountain partly to seek their fortune and partly because they were told the beer was free.

Tonight image comes from IGN 

THE HOBBIT:AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY will be with us 14th December 2012 with the final part coming 13th December 2013 with THE HOBBIT:THERE AND BACK AGAIN. The cast includes returnees from Lord Of The Rings Sir Ian McKellan, Cate Blanchett, Orlando Bloo, Ian Holm, Elijah Wood, Christopher Lee, Hugo Weaving and Andy Serkis with new cast of Richard Armitage, Jed Brophy, Adam Brown, John Callen, Stephen Fry, Ryan Gage, Mark Hadlow, Peter Hambleton, Stephen Hunter, William Kircher, Sylvester McCoy, Bret McKenzie, Graham McTavish, Mike Mizrahi, James Nesbitt, Dean O’Gorman, Lee Pace, Mikael Persbrandt, Conan Stevens, Ken Stott, Jeffrey Thomas, Luke Evans, Benedict Cumberbatch , Aidan Turner, Evangeline Lily and Barry Humphries.